February 9th 2012 More thoughts, and preparations

Vinnie is ready to go

I’ve been looking at the route I will start out on, and trying to figure out how long the first day’s ride will be. Pretty long, as I want to get to the ferry, at Tsawwassen, which, if you don’t know, is pronounced either ‘Tawassen’ or ‘Sawassen’, your choice.

Then, there is a ferry ride, which will take either two hours, or three hours, depending if I arrive just in time to miss one, or if I get right onto a ferry, and then the travel to Victoria, which is about an hour, I think.

I have been trying to figure out how long the ride to the ferry will take me, and I have decided it is somewhere between four hours, and six hours. Longer than I have ridden before, anyway!

So that total first day could be ten hours. If I start out at 6 a.m. that should be good. I’d really like to arrive at the ferry by noon.

So, over the next few months I plan to ride out, along that route, then turn around and come back, building up the time I ride.

At first I will go out for one hour, meaning I’ll have ridden two hours when I get back.

I plan to do that three times. Hopefully I get furthur along each time, and also stronger. I’ll do that once a week, hopefully on a sunny day. This coming Saturday was supposed to be sunny, my iPhone weather app said, but has since changed its mind. Well, at least, if it is not pouring, I will still do it.

Then I will ride out either 1 1/2 hours, and back, or, maybe two hours out, and back, three times. That should give me a good idea how much distance I can travel, and also make me stronger.

I want to figure out how long it will take me to get to the half way (on this side) mark. There is one big hill on the way, before the halfway mark.

Yesterday I bought a white light for the front of my bike, and a red light for the back. These are not ‘seeing’ lights, but ‘being seen’ lights, and have four different choices for being on; either various ways of flashing, or on continuosly. Very bright.

I took some video footage the other (sunny) day, to make my ‘announcement’ video about this trip, to go on YouTube. I need a bit more footage, and then will make the video to publicize this trip. So on that day Vinnie got his first ‘real’ ride in his travel basket. He rode lying down, and ate treats happily when I stopped to give them to him. I should have put his sweater on him, of course, since he was not moving, and it was chilly for him.

So that is a little update on ‘the trip’.

What do you think?

